Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake

OK, so I know we have been slacking here at Bake with Us. We have missed the last two TWD posts and we haven’t been posting much else. My only excuse is that I have been so busy baking (and partying with friends), that I haven’t had time to blog. Lame I know, but on the bright side I am having tons of fun and sharing the baking love. Sorry to our virtual friends, I will try and it make up to you over the coming weeks with lots of posts.

So this past weekend was my favorite baritone saxophonist’s 30th birthday. He has this thing for peanut butter and so I wanted to hook him up with a peanut butter cake. Peanut butter isn’t my favourite so I was worried about finding a good recipe. I went straight to some of my favorite blogs and found success over at Smitten Kitchen.

peanutbuttercake

Deb’s recipe is great. I decided to omit the chocolate glaze and the extent of my artistic license was the addition of chopped peanut butter cups. I added finely chopped pieces to the middle layer and then coarsely chopped ones on top. Confession: I didn’t actually eat a piece but it looked fabulous. I ate some saxophone cookies, which will soon be appearing here. Stay tuned for more 30th birthday party recipes.

cakepieceblog

Image Credit: Shirantha Beddage

7 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake

  1. Wow, you did a great job! I can taste it just by licking the laptop!

  2. I made this a few weeks ago šŸ™‚ I did the chocolate glaze though šŸ™‚ This cake was yummy!!

  3. Holy Smokes Caroline!

    That cake looks awesome…and I know Rachel is going to love it…once I get some of those magic middle cookies made up, I will take a pic and post it here with the recipe.
    Ciao!

  4. I can attest to the deliciousness of this cake! And in particular, how very moist the chocolate cake layers were.

    What I notice in the slice photo is how little icing there is between the bottom two layers… before we knew how much there would be to go around!

  5. The cake looks fabulous! I am jealous.

  6. WOW! That looks amazing Caroline!! Bet it was just as delicious too!

  7. Pingback: Saxophone Cookies « Bake with Us

Leave a comment