TWD All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie

I have a little secret to tell you. Before this post, I had never made a pie with pastry. With that being said, you can imagine how the rest of this post might read. Either it went well or it didn’t.

Well, it didn’t! First of all, the picture explains a lot. I don’t think my pastry looks right. Also, I didn’t have any shortening so I used just butter for the crust. From there it was sort of downhill and needless to say, I had only a few bites of the pie.

I am sure this is a lovely pie and maybe after some pie lessons from my mum (which I have already put in a request for) I will give it a whirl again. But for now, I don’t have much to say!

Thanks to Emily of Sandmuffin for giving me the push to try pie, and of course, to now try and improve my skills. You can head over to Emily’s site for this the recipe or you can be find it on pages 300-302 of BFMHTY.

4 responses to “TWD All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie

  1. You didn’t like it? I am sorry to hear that. Don’t give up, though. This attempt looks pretty good to me. 🙂

  2. What’s wrong with the pastry? I always just use butter for mine.

  3. Your pie looks great Caroline!! But I have to say, Kitty’s apple pie IS THE BEST there is – I wish I had learned from her while I had the chance.

  4. I totally agree Teresa. After 40 yrs it just gets better but appears infrequently.

Leave a Reply

