Milk-Chocolate Cookies

This past weekend I had the pleasure of visiting my friend’s newborn baby and the rest of her family. Since I was bringing the wee one (who I must say, is pretty darn cute!) a present, I decided to bring a treat for the rest of the family to enjoy. Since her other daughter is 3, I figured a chocolate cookie with chocolate chips would go over well! I found this recipe in one of my go-to books,  Martha Stewart’s Cookies.

These cookies are a little different than the usual double chocolate cookie because they are milk chocolate based. This suits me just fine, as I have an affinity for milk chocolate over all other chocolates! The cookies were soft with a crispy edge and go very well with a cup of tea (or a glass of milk, if that’s your thing!). I followed the recipe for the most part, except for a few minor changes that I mentioned in the ingredients. Note: because the cookies are very soft, it is a good idea to listen to Martha and leave the cookies on the parchment when transferring them to a wire rack. I wrecked a few cookies trying to put them directly on wire racks causing the bottoms to get smooshed!

Milk-Chocolate Cookies
Source: Martha Stewart’s Cookies

1 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp course salt ( I used regular salt)
8 ounces good quality milk chocolate (4 ounces coarsely chopped, 4 ounces cut into  1/4-inch chunks) ** I just used milk chocolate chips for all of it:)
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 325. Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soad and salt in a bowl.
2. Melt 4 ounces coarsely chopped chocolate with butter in a small heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water; let cool slightly.
3. Put chocolate mixture, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed until combined. Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in flour mixture. Fold in chocolate chunks.
4. Using a 1 1/2-inch ice cream scoop, drop dough onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until cookies are flat and surfaces crack, about 15 minutes (cookies should be soft). Let cool on parchment on wire racks.

Enjoy!
Claire

Leave a Reply

