TWD Lemon-Drenched Vanilla Cakes

It has been a long time since I have posted a recipe and I am glad I was able to finally come through on a TWD post. Between having an excess of sweets on my hands after my birthday and a busy schedule, I have been out of the kitchen for quite a while!

This weeks recipe was chosen by Wendy of Pink Stripes. The original recipe is for rum-drenched cakes and to be honest, I probably would have never bothered with this recipe because rum isn’t my thing (well, at least in baked goods!). However, Dorie gave lots of ideas for change and I do love lemon! This was my first time making a pound cake and I think it went pretty well. I really need to invest in a smaller loaf pan because it was a bit wide and short,  but oh well!

I am not usually much for a pound cake but this one was lovely. This cake would make a great little treat if you were having afternoon tea with friends.It was so easy to put together and I halved the recipe which works better for me. I made a few changes (other than the obvious change from rum-drenched to lemon drenched). I used half and half cream (I didn’t notice any difference!) and used pure vanilla extract instead of the vanilla beans. I am sure the vanilla beans would be lovely but I was looking for the easy route last night! This recipe is one I would make again and may even try making a thicker lemon glaze next time for something different.

Cheers,
Claire

2 responses to “TWD Lemon-Drenched Vanilla Cakes

  1. I really want to try this with the lemon or orange flavour.
    Yours looks lovely!

  2. Looks great Claire! Glad you liked this one. Can’t wait to see you on Saturday. We get to make a cake for F’s Birthday! Whoohoo!

Leave a Reply

