Raisin Swirl Bread TWD

I have been known to have bread and butter for dinner. Bread really is the one food I couldn’t live without, a low-carb evangelist I am not.  Yet, I have only made yeasted bread once before. The real barrier for me is the time factor. I am not the most patient person in the world and the multiple risings really prevent me from fully embracing bread making (perhaps this is a good thing). However, since this week’s TWD was bread and I love it so, I decided to face my impatience head on. (It didn’t hurt that I was scheduled for a day in the kitchen anyways, as I threw my first high tea on the weekend).

Overall, this was super easy to make. I had the oven on all day so the rising was a cinch. I always get a little confused on the warm place but now I have this nailed down. The bread rose beautifully and I used it to make goat cheese and apple sandwiches for my high tea. The only thing that kept it being a 100% sucess was that there was that it had a bit too much air. Alas, perfection is overrated.  My one adaption was that I used a maple sugar cinnamon mix instead of granulated sugar. Delish.

Raisin Swirl Bread

Thanks to Susan of Food.Baby for this week’s selection. Head on over to her blog for the recipe. You can see what other TWD bakers got up to over here.

Caroline

7 responses to “Raisin Swirl Bread TWD

  1. Looks wonderful to me! A “high tea” sounds interesting too as well as goat cheese and apple sandwiches.

  2. Im glad you enjoyed the bread! I used cinnamone chips in mine and it was mighty tasty!

  3. looks like you got great texture on yours!

  4. Your bread looks great and your sandwiches sound delicious!

  5. Lovely! I love the idea of the maple 🙂

  6. Your bread looks gorgeous! I think it turned out wonderful. This was a winner at my house. 🙂

  7. Ciao ! Wonderful bread !

Leave a Reply

