Double Chocolate Coconut Cookies

This recipe starts my quest to discover what is wrong with my baking, as mentioned in my previous post. I made these cookies for the bf on Saturday night and baked them in his oven! They turned out great (even though I may have forgotten some baking powder and salt) and without any funny taste. Ok, well maybe a little taste but that could be in my head!

I chose these cookies because for some reason, I have an over-abundance of white chocolate chips. Plus, I liked the sound of coconut in the cookie. As per usual, I left the walnuts out of the ones in the picture, because they were for me, but did put them in the rest of the batch. These cookies were well-received and were very easy to throw together. I must say that the Martha Stewart’s Cookies book was definately a great stocking stuffer this past Christmas!

Double Chocolate Coconut Cookies
Source: Martha Stewart’s Cookies
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp coarse salt
2 cups white chocolate chunks (I used chips)
1 3/4 cups sweetened flaked coconut
1 3/4 coarsely chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 350. Put butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; mix on medium speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Mix in eggs one at a time. Stir in vanilla.
2. Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Mix into butter mixture on low speed until well combined. Stir in chocolate, coconut and walnuts.
3. Using a 1 1/2-inch ice cream scoop, drop batter onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing 2 inches apart. Flatten slightly. Bake until set, 10-12 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks for 2 minutes. Transfer cookies on parchment to racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

