Happy Mother’s Day!

This weekend I was fortunate enough to go home for Mother’s Day and celebrate the day with my mum. We had a relaxing day just lounging around and went out for dinner just the two of us.

For Mother’s Day, Caroline had bought our mum an Everyday Food cookbook and while looking through it, my mum and I both ended up admiring these creamy lemon squares. So I figured I would give this recipe a try for her this weekend.  To be perfectly honest,  I think I have made these squares or something very similar before, but since I have never blogged about them, I thought this was a perfect opportunity.

These squares were a cinch to whip up and came out looking great. My mum and dad both liked them but I have to admit the taste was a bit off. This has NOTHING to do with the recipe which I will definately make again and more to do with a baking dilemma I am having. For some reason, a couple of things I have made recently have come out of the oven tasting just a tad off. I have it down to either flour or some funky smell in my oven. In future posts, I plan on figuring out what the problem is, so that I can remedy the situation ASAP. First step will be buying new flour and secondly, cleaning the oven (which will be a new adventure for me). Wish me luck and do try these squares, they are great! Oh, and Happy Mother’s Day to all the mums reading this blog. In particular, my mum and sister:)

Creamy Lemon Squares
Source: Everyday Food Fresh Flavour Fast

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, plus more for dusting
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup flour
4 large yolks
1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
3/4 cup lemon juice (from 4 lemons)
1. Preheat oven to 350. Butter an 8 inch square baking pan. Line with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides; butter paper.
2. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter, sugar and salt until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low. Add flour, and mix until cominbed. Press dough into the bottom and 1/2 inch up sides of prepared pan; prick all over with a fork. Bake until lightly golden, 15-20 minutes.
3. Whisk together egg yolks, condensed milk, and lemon juice until smooth. Pour over hot crust in pan; return to oven, and bake until filling is set, 25-30 minutes. Cool completely in pan.
4. Refrigerate, covered, until filling is firm, about 2 hours (or up to 3 days). Using paper overhang, lift cake onto a cutting board and cut into squares. Dust with confectioners’ sugar prior to serving.

p.s. This issue is not just in my head, my mum noticed it as well. Oddly (or not so oddly), neither males who tasted the squares seemed to notice anything wrong with them!

One response to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Looks good Claire! Hope you have your baking issues solved by the time Shirantha and I come for your birthday!

Leave a Reply

