Swedish Visiting Cake- TWD

Swedish Visiting Cake, who knew? This cake is one of the reasons I joined Tuesday’s with Dorie. I never would have tried it, thinking it was too boring but I sure would have been missing out. I love the simplicity of the cake and that I was able to just whip it up after work without a fuss. I made it without the almonds and almond extract; instead I added sliced apples on top.  Simple and delicious, ready to be made without a moment’s notice. It is nice and lemony which is great and makes a reasonable size of a dessert, a real keeper I would say.

Thanks to Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs for choosing this weeks recipe. The recipe is on page 197 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. Head on over to Tuesday’s with Dorie to see what other bakers made of this one.

10 responses to “Swedish Visiting Cake- TWD

  1. It was simple and so so tasty! Im glad you enjoyed it. It looks perfect and I love the apples!

  2. Ohhh, pretty. I may have to try the apple version soon, as in maybe tonight, because our did not last past 24 hours.

  3. This looks good, Care! Can’t wait to try it! (And I suddenly have this strong desire to visit IKEA… don’t know why.)

  4. nice twist! really cute looking too

  5. This looks soooo good, may have to try the apple version too!

  6. simple, elegant, tasty and versatile… all perfect for a quick easy go-to cake!! Yours looks great!

  7. Sometimes boring can turn out to be surprising after all! I love your cake with the apples on top, and I’m glad it was a hit around there. Thanks for baking along with me this week.

  8. I thought it was boring too! Boy was I wrong. This is definitely on the top 5 list and to think I probably wouldn’t have even baked it without TWD. I’d definitely be missing out! Love the apples. Glad you enjoyed the cake.
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  9. It looks delicious with the apples on top! I loved this and can’t wait to make it again and again. 🙂

  10. Looks wonderful. I never would have tried it on my own and now I have a new go-to quick recipe. So good!

Leave a Reply

