Oatmeal Bread

I love bread. I am quite happy to have a beer and bread for dinner (beer is really liquid bread, isn’t it?) That being said I try not to have that meal too often, for a variety of reasons, one being that if I had it all the time it wouldn’t be such a treat. I have been meaning to enter into the bread making world for a while but I kept putting it off. Last weekend, I committed my Sunday to bread making and it was well worth it.

Now I will be the first to admit that it isn’t the prettiest looking bread I have ever seen but I think it isn’t bad for a first go. The recipe comes from the Mennonite Central Committee’s More with Less cookbook. I recommend this book for it’s simple recipes and ideological perspective, especially in a time when concerns about food security and the ethical use of food resources are so pressing.The other books in the series are equally as good, Extending the Table and Simply in Season. You can buy these books from your local Ten Thousand Villages StoreMCC’s online store or your preferred bookseller.

Oatmeal Bread

Combine in a large bowl:
1 c. quick oats
1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 T salt
2 T butter

Pour over the above mixture:
2 c. boiling water

Stir in to combine.

Dissolve:
1 pkg dry yeast (or 1 T) in
1/2 c. warm water

When batter is cooled to lukewarm, add yeast.

Stir in:
5 c. white flour

Once the flour is mixed knead the bread for 5-10 minutes. (I used my stand mixer for 5 minutes or so. I think that it could have used longer so I will try that next time). Place in greased bowl, cover and let rise until doubled (I think this took an hour or so). Punch down and let rise again (Once again I think it took an hour or a bit more).  Shape into 2 loaves and place in greased 9x5x3 pans. Bake at 350 F for 30-40 minutes. Cool and brush with butter. Eat this bread with your friends and family, good bread is meant for sharing.

Leave a Reply

