Martha’s Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

I am constantly on the look-out for new chocolate chip cookie recipes to try. So, when Caroline gave me Martha Stewart’s Cookies in my stocking this Christmas, this cookie was an obvious first choice.

I made these the other morning after a request came in from a certain boy, asking for a sweet treat for his lunches and dinners at work. I didn’t have much time to work with and these cookies looked quick to whip up so I figured it was the perfect time to try them out!

I have to say, I really enjoyed these cookies! I got a text later on that night at work to say they were “awesome”, so I think I have found a new winner with these cookies. This recipe is a keeper:)

I made a few small changes along the way. First off, I never have light brown sugar so I used dark. Also, I used regular salt, halved the recipe and used milk chocolate chips only. And because I have a hot oven, I decreased the cooking time because the edges were golden at around the 9 minute mark.

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Source: Martha Stewart’s Cookies

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup unsalted butter at room temp
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tsp coarse salt
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips (or a combo)

1. Preheat oven to 350. Whisk together flour and baking soda in a bowl. Put butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed for about 2 minutes, until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low. Add salt, vanilla and eggs; mix until well blended, about 1 minute. Mix in flour. Stir in chocolate chips.

2. Drop heaping tablespoons of dough on baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake cookies, rotating half-way until edges turn golden but the middle is still soft, 10-12 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks for about 2 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks and let cool completely. Can be stored at room temp for up to 1 week.

P.S. Sorry for the lack of posts the past few weeks. We at Bake With Us needed a small break from the sweet extravaganza that was Christmas but we are on our way to being back in the saddle. Keep reading, we’ve got lots of baked goods up our sleeves.

One response to “Martha’s Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. But, the million dollar question is…. are they better than our original recipe?

Leave a Reply

