Pumpkin Muffins

Once you open a can of pumpkin you are committed. The ones I end up buying have over three cups in them, which means three different pumpkin treats. I usually pick one thing that I want to make and then scrounge around finding recipes to finish off the can with. Last week though, I had two recipes that I needed to make so I only had to scrounge for one. This is it. Don’t get me wrong, I love muffins, but I sure wouldn’t open a can for them. But for a third choice, these are pretty good. Hopefully there will be posts coming on choices one and two;)

pumpkinmuffins

The best part about making these was that I got to try out my new square muffin tin. I got it in the summer (such as it was here in Ontario) but never got around to using it. Square is the new round in my books.

Pumpkin Muffins adapted from Company’s Coming Muffins & More (nothing wrong with Jean!)

1.5 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/2 cup chocolate chips (The “real” recipe called for raisins but seriously chocolate is better)
1 egg
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup melted butter or margarine
1 cup cooked pumpkin
1/2 cup milk

Combine first 8 ingredients. Mix together and then make a well in the middle. Then in another bowl, whisk egg. Add in sugar, butter, pumpkin and milk and mix well. Pour into the flour. Mix until blended, don’t over-stir. Bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes. Let stand for five minutes then remove from pan. Serve warm or not.

2 responses to “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. These were really tasty – nice job.

  2. These look delicious. I made mine version with raisins, they made them taste more healthy. Next time I think I will try using the chocolate chips. Good suggestions! Check my food blog out, with my latest creation, Pumpkin Muffins. http://snowinsummer.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

