Sour Cream Banana Cake with Chocolate Chips

Back in the day I lived in Waterloo with Joy, Pam and Kristin. We had a couch in our kitchen and spent MANY hours there, drinking tea and trying to solve our problems and everyone else’s. There were white boards where we kept track of our Myer’s Briggs personalities and friends’ phone numbers and there was brown paper on the wall where we wrote random quotes, lists and posted pictures. Basically, it was a great house. One day Joy brought home a recipe for a sour cream banana cake and our lives (OK my life) have never been the same since.  We baked this cake for friends and ourselves, we took it camping, it was a go-to recipe and it remains my FAVORITE cake.

My favorite cake

My favorite cake

We were fortunate enough to all be together this past weekend. Joy lives on the west coast but she was in town for a conference. In honour of Joy’s visit I threw a party. My apartment is MUCH smaller than our house was but it didn’t matter. We had a great evening and of course, it would have been wrong not to serve up the cake. I was so consumed with the party that I didn’t take a picture so I managed to grab a shot on Sunday. Disclosure: I ate that huge peice after I took a picture of it, as I said this is my favorite.

Sour Cream Banana Cake with Chocolate Chips

1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2.5 cups mashed bananas
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chocolate chips (as you all can imagine I use milk but Pam, Joy and Kristin probably use semi-sweet)

Preheat oven to 350. Grease an angel food pan or a 9 x 13 or a large bundt pan. Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, vanilla and bananas and mix well. In a separate bowl combine four, baking powder and baking soda. Mix alternatively the dry ingredients and the sour cream into the banana mixture. Pour half the batter into pan. Mix together the brown sugar, cinnamon and chocolate chips and sprinkle over the batter. Cover with remaining batter. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until your cake tester comes out clean (if you are using an angel food pan it will take longer). Allow to cool and ice with chocolate icing or not, it’s up to you.

The Marshall Street Crew

The Marshall Street Crew

2 responses to “Sour Cream Banana Cake with Chocolate Chips

  1. This looks fantastic! I must make this into a Bundt (since that is my thing! 🙂

    What a great photo of friends too! – mary

  2. Pingback: Coolest Birthday Gift Ever! « Bake with Us

Leave a Reply

