TWD Tiramisu Cake

I am a cake person. Some people are pastry people but I am all about cake. I will pass up pastry anytime in exchange for cakey goodness. Since Claire is studying for her licensing exam, this months baking falls to me. Fortunately for me (and my coworkers) I am up to the challenge.  This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, Tiramisu cake, was selected by Kristin of My Baking Adventures, make sure you check out her blog for the recipe. I think I have had Tiramisu only once before but given that this recipe was in cake format I was up for the challenge. I had a few problems locating the espresso powder, but fortunately the fourth stop was the charm. The cake was definitely worth it!

Tiramisu Cake

Tiramisu Cake

I used two 8 inch square pans because I wanted to create two cakes. My brother in law made a delicious dinner this weekend so I wanted to gift him and my sister this cake. However, I couldn’t have my coworkers miss out on home baking, especially since Jenny helped me shop for the ingredients. Thus, I cut the two squares in half and layered them. I was a little short on the icing so I would adjust the quantities if I was going to do that again.

Once again, the photos don’t do the cake justice. I thought it was a lovely cake and would make it again. Now that I am done school for the summer, I vow to try and take nicer photos. I aim to bake more during the day in order to have more natural lighting. It’s always good to have a little project! Perhaps I will even have to buy myself pretty plates to accent the baking goodness.

10 responses to “TWD Tiramisu Cake

  1. Natasha A.

    It was super yummy too! 😀 Thanks Caroline!

  2. I loved the cake too! And I think that plate is incredibly charming!

  3. Great job Carrie! Once all this studying is over we need a baking weekend to work on our photography:)

  4. That plate is so cute! Great job with your cake! This was a good recipe, wasn’t it?

  5. That was a great idea to turn the recipe into two separate cakes. I like your cute pink plate!

  6. Love the idea of making two cakes and gifting them around. I have to say, this is a very interesting way to do that…I learn new things from these blogs all the time.

  7. The cake was delicious – thank you Caroline!

  8. Looks just fine to me. Love square cakes. That fluted cake plate is lovely.

  9. Nice photos!

  10. Wonderful! I loved this recipe, one of my favorites so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

