TWD French Yogurt Cake

Yeah for French Yogurt Cake I say! This week’s TWD was the first one that I have made that I REALLY liked. Claire seems to have had some real winners but me, not so much. This week was the TSN turning point, thanks to Liliana of My Cookbook Additction, check out her website for the full recipe.

lemony

While making this I was really wishing I had a nice microplane type zester. I tried to avoid grating my fingers into the bread with the old stand up grater. It did the trick but I think a new zester may be my next kitchen type purchase.

What I really liked about this cake/loaf was that it was super easy and super delicious. I love all things lemon, which remind me that I need to tell you about my favorite lemon squares in the not too distant future! This was a nice, dense loaf that I enjoyed with fresh raspberries. The only change that I made as that I didn’t do the marmalade glaze. Being as I am not a marmalade fan I used this as an opportunity to make my own glaze. Here’s what I did.

1/2 cup icing sugar
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tbsp of orange juice

Mix together ingredients to make a liquid glaze. (I didn’t measure so well when I did this so if you need to, add more icing sugar or more juice depending on how this works for you!) Pour over loaf immediately after you remove from oven. Use a knife to separate the loaf from the sides of the pan in order to avoid the pooling of the glaze. Remove from pan after 5 minutes.

lemon loaf

Many thanks to Dorie for introducing us to this French treat, I think this will be making an appearance at our Easter festivities. This cake just makes my ever increasing desire to go to Paris even stronger!

P.S. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

9 responses to “TWD French Yogurt Cake

  1. Microplane zester makes life so much easier!!! I am so glad that you loved this one! It really was delicious!

  2. Beautiful cake.

    Have you considered looking in the hardware section for a microplaine?

    They have them under a different name.

    Or Amazon has them for fairly cheep. That is where I got mine.

  3. this looks so yummy! you must make it again for all of your coworkers who love your baking SO MUCH!

  4. I am hoping that Nigella’s Easter Chocolate cake will take centre stage at this year’s gathering

  5. Happy St Paddy’s Day! Your cake looks great, glad you liked this one

  6. teaandscones

    Pampered Chef has a zester that makes long strips. I love mine.

    Your cake looks wonderful. Love the lemon glaze. That would be really tasty.

  7. I think the glaze is the way to go, in my opinion. I froze my cake, but I will definitely be dousing it with some glaze when we are ready to eat it!
    And I LOVE lemon bars! Can’t wait to read about them.

  8. Your cake looks great! I love all things lemon too, so I can’t wait to read about your lemon bars. This cake makes me want to go to Paris too. At least we can make it and feel like we have a slice of Paris at home. 😉

  9. oh honey.. we don’t need a cake to convince us that paris is the place to go! haha. Great job with it though. It looks lovely out of the pan!

Leave a Reply

