Seven-Minute Frosting

I realize that I forgot to post the recipe for the frosting I used with the previous post. It also calls to use a thermometer but my mum didn’t have one and I have made the frosting before so I just did without!

I noticed in other peoples blogs that the original frosting tasted like marshmallows so this one is very similar! It is still a little tedious but I love it! I often end up eating the extra frosting, yum!

Seven-Minute Frosting

(from Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans)

1 1/4 cups sugar

1/3 cup water

3 large egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

Put th sugar, water, egg whites and cream of tartar in a heatproof bowl or the top of a double boiler with at least a 2-quart capacity and beat with a handheld electric mixer on high speed until opaque,white and faomy, about 1 minute. Put the bowl over, but not touching, a saucepan of barely simmering water (or the bottom of the double boiler). The top container should sit firmly over the pan of hot water; be sure to keep the cord of the elctric mixer away from the burner. Beat on high speed until the frosting forms a soft peak that stands straight up if you stop the beaters and lift them up, about 7 minutes. The frosting should register 160 degrees F on the thermometer. Remove the container of frosting from the water, add the vanilla and almond extracts, and continue beating for 2 minutes to further thicken the frosting.

**I omit the almond extract but I’m sure it would be yummy too! Enjoy and sorry for not posting it before!

2 responses to “Seven-Minute Frosting

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I have never made seven minute frosting but LOVE all things marshmallow-y and fluffy!

  2. I’ve made this before! It’s very good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

