Rhubarb-Brown Sugar Plain Cake- TWD

Well, it’s been a while since I posted but let me tell you I came back with a real winner. I loved this plain cake and I pretty much stuck to the recipe other than substituting rhubarb for blueberries. It’s rhubarb season here and it seemed a shame to not use local produce as the earth seems to have finally woken from its winter slumber. I picked the rhubarb at my Aunt’s house last weekend when we were in town for Claire’s wedding shower.

Let’s talk about this cake. Now I was a bit skeptical of the fussiness, I mean beating egg whites seemed like a bit much for a “plain” cake but I was wrong. It wasn’t too much as the cake was light and delicious and I assume the egg white peaks had something to do with this.  I made the cake this morning and brought it into work. There was only one piece left at the end of the day so I think it was a hit! A couple of people asked for the recipe, here’s hoping that the egg white beating doesn’t dissuade them.

Thanks to Cindy of Everyday Insanity for choosing this recipe. And of course a big thanks to Dorie for giving us this little gem. I can’t wait to make it for my family, they are going to love it!!!

Caroline

5 responses to “Rhubarb-Brown Sugar Plain Cake- TWD

  1. what a great idea! nice color too.

  2. Thanks for baking along with me this week. I’m glad you tried rhubarb as I have a huge rhubarb plant I need to use. Looks delicious.

  3. Rhubarb is such a great summer fruit! Sounds like a very good choice!

  4. The cake looks great. I wonder if it would work with frozen rhubarb as you were the last person to pick from the patch? Where can I find the recipe if you are sharing?
    Auntie.

  5. I made this one using frozen rhubarb (that I thawed) and it turned out really well. I’m enjoying your site so much. The photos make me want to try everything! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

