Tender Shortcakes TWD

I love scones. They are one of my favourite treats, (ok, I have a lot of favourites) right up there with cinnamon buns and banana chocolate chip cake. Now I know that these are shortcakes but the helpful people who contribute to wikipedia tell me that shortcakes are aka scones.  So I consider these scones by another name. I made them last night and didn’t have anyone to share them with so I ate two *gasp* I know, summer is coming and shorts and tees abound but I couldn’t stop myself.

I halved the recipe and made 6 plain shortcakes/scones and 4 raspberry ones (I couldn’t leave well enough alone and had to add fresh raspberries!) Admit it, you wish you could taste one. The raspberry ones were delicious. In addition to the raspberries, I added an extra tbsp of sugar and I substituted 2% milk for the cream (somehow I knew I would eat two!) I didn’t serve them with whipping cream because it is not my favourite. That’s the beauty of being the baker I get to pick how it all works out. I ate them straight up and so will my taste testers. S. will be stopping by later today to pick up his treats.

For the recipe head on over to Tortefeasor. Thanks Cathy for a GREAT choice.

Caroline

PS It’s Claire’s birthday today! Join me in wishing her a happy, happy birthday! Being seven years older I remember the day she was born and I am super lucky that she grew up to be a great sister AND a baker. Happy Birthday Claire!!!!

PPS The beautiful pottery dish in the picture came from Susan Card’s studio in the Distillery District. The Distillery is one my favourite places in Toronto because it is filled with local artists, great food and beautiful buildings. I love pottery and I am impressed with Susan’s work especially because she has little platters that I can serve my baked goods on. Be sure to stop by Susan’s gallery the next time you are down there.

13 responses to “Tender Shortcakes TWD

  1. Raspberries would be a great addition. Yes, I do want to taste one.

  2. If I was still at GH I would come upstairs and demand one. Raspberries are my favourite!

  3. Raspberries are a great choice. I used strawberries which were good too but I think, I would like to try these with raspberries, as well and peaches.

    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2010/06/tender-shortcakes-twd.html

  4. Mixing your fruit right in the batter sounds like a wonderful idea! Your shortcakes look delicious!

  5. Have you ever been to the Scone Witch in Ottawa? Their scones are sooooooo good and you can buy them both fresh and frozen, so you can bake them later…

  6. Interesting twist on shortcakes! They look so yummy with the fruit baked right in.

  7. Love the scone idea! They look so good!!

  8. happy birthday Claire! Putting raspberries in sounds like a great idea. I always buy raspberry scones at coffee shops and am disappointed, so now I can make my own! I love pottery too, and am spending July in Toronto, so I’ll be sure to check out that shop. :)

  9. Oh, and I just saw Jann’s comment–The Scone Witch scones are amazing, and so is their brunch!

  10. If you have any left over…send them to me! :)

  11. I like the idea of baking the raspberries in to the shortcakes.

  12. wow this is awesome! bake the fruit right in the shortcake – love it!

  13. I admit it – I wish I could taste one!! And since they look so incredible straight up, I won’t even have to bother you for fruit or anything. Thank you so much for baking along with me this week. And happy birthday to Claire!

Leave a Reply

