Red Velvet Cupcakes Part Two

Last month I was browsing through some cookbooks and thinking about Valentine’s Day. Last year at Valentine’s Day there was a lot of red velvet posting on various blogs and since I have never had red velvet cake, I thought this years Valentine’s Day would be the perfect time to give them a whirl. Conveniently, I was invited to a party which meant that I would be able to share my treats and avoid eating them all myself.

Cupcakes with Leah's yummy chocolate cookies

 

Apparently, my dear sister and I are two peas in a pod because when I called her one evening she told me she was planning on making red velvet cupcakes for Valentine’s Day too! I had looked at the Martha Stewart recipe that she chose but had already settled on this recipe from The Hummingbird Bakery book. I chose this one because it didn’t require the gel food colouring, although it did require a heck of a lot of liquid food colouring!

Since I have never had a red velvet cupcake before, I don’t have anything to compare these with but as far as I am concerned, they were pretty darn good! I did have quite a few tasters who all enjoyed them too so I guess we will call them a hit! The cake was just right and the icing was very yummy.  I think these will definitely make an appearance next Valentine’s day or even sooner, perhaps a Canada Day party!?

Red Velvet Cupcakes
source: The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

60 g unsalted butter at room temperature
150 g caster sugar ( i just used regular sugar)
1 egg
10 g cocoa powder
20 ml red food colouring
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
120 ml buttermilk
150 g plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp white wine vinegar
Preheat oven to 325.
Put butter and sugar in freestanding electric mixer with a paddle attachment (or use handheld electric whisk) and beat on medium speed until light and fluffy and well mixed. Turn the mixer up to high speed, slowly add the egg and beat until everything is well incorporated.
In a separate bowl, mix together the cocoa powder, red food colouring and vanilla extract to make a thick, dark paste. Add to the butter mixture and mix thoroughly until evenly combined and coloured (scrape any unmixed ingredients from the side of the bowl with a rubber spatula). Turn the mixer down to slow speed and slowly pour in half the buttermilk. Beat until well incorporated. Repeat this process until all the buttermilk and flour have been added. Scrape down the side of the bowl again. Turn the mier up to high speed and beat until ou have a smooth, even mixture. Turn the mixer down to low spped and add the salt, baking soda and vinegar. Beat until well mixed, then turn up the speed again and beat for a couple more minutes.
Spoon the mixture into 12 paper cups until 2/3rds full and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the sponge bounces back when touched. Leave the cupcakes to cool slighly in the tray before turning out onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely. When cooled completely, ice with cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

300 g icing sugar, sifted
50 g unsalted butter, at room temperature
125 g cream cheese, cold
Beat the icing sugar and butter together in a freestanding electric mixer with a paddle attachment on medium-slow speed until the mixture comes together and is well mixed. Add the cream cheese in one go and beat until it is completely incorporated. Turn the mixer up to medium-high speed. Continue beating until the frosting is light and fluffy, at least 5 minutes. Do not overbeat, as it can quickly become runny.

One response to “Red Velvet Cupcakes Part Two

  1. Ha! I think it is funny that my cupcakes have twice as much icing as yours. I am all about the icing.

Leave a Reply

