Brown Sugar Toffee Snack Cake

I take full responsibility for the lack of TWD post this week but if you care to know, I blame it on the flu shot. I got mine on Monday (yay for being a health care worker and not having to line up for hours) and had a crappy night sleep due to a very sore arm! Plus I woke up with a headache and so the day was just not looking so hot. However, at the last minute I whipped up these little morsels to make up for my lack of TWD posting. They are quite brown-sugary but I quite enjoyed them! The cake was moist and light and I love Skor:)

IMG_3528

I have had this recipe saved in my delicious for a while now and figured I might as well give it a try since I had some sour cream in the fridge. I have a similar recipe that I love but it uses a 9×13 so I figured I would give it a try since an 8×8 is not as dangerous! This is my first recipe from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody but I must say I drool over most of her recipes! If you don’t check out her blog on a regular basis, I advise you give it a browse:)

I made a few changes to the recipe to avoid having to buy extra things! I didn’t have any self-raising flour so I followed Baking Bites suggestion on how to make your own. I also didn’t have Skor bars and so instead I used Skor bits and milk chocolate chips. I probably put 1/3 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of Skor bits into the cake and then sprinkled the top with an additional 1/2 cup or so of bits. My only issue was the baking time, I probably added 6 minutes.

3 responses to “Brown Sugar Toffee Snack Cake

  1. Umm can you bring a sample of this too? Looks awesome!!!!

  2. These look great. I love snack cakes. Hope your arm is okay! :) – mary

  3. Glad you liked them. Thanks for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

