Peanut Butter Hide-Aways

One year during exams, Caroline made me a batch of these cookies and I must confess that I probably ate most of them without sharing. Thankfully stress increases metabolism and it seemed to have no ill-effects on my body at the time!

IMG_3471

This past weekend, my mum, Caroline and I made a trip to the States and stocked up on a few kitchen essentials (ie. butter, mini peanut butter cups) that are much cheaper.  So I decided to put my purchases to good use and made these for the bf but also took some into work yesterday. I like to take things to work that are easy to eat while taking a mini break from the busy-ness that is our pharmacy.

IMG_3477

Treats for my co-workers!

Peanut Butter Hide-Aways
From Company’s Coming Most Loved Treats by Jean Pare

1/2 cup Hard marg (or butter), softened
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 large egg

1 1/3 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt (I always use less salt than they call for)

36 mini peanut butter cups (Note: it is best to remove the wrappers once you know how many cookies you will be making so that they are ready to go when the dough comes out of the oven)

Beat first 4 ingredients in large bowl until light and creamy. Add egg and beat well. Combine next 4 ingredients in small bowl. Add to marg mixture. Stir until just moistened. Dough will be stiff (note: my dough was not stiff but the cookies turned out just right anyways). Roll into 36 balls, using 1 tbsp for each. Place 1 ball in each mini-muffin cup. Bake at 375F for about 10 minutes until puffy and golden.     Remove and discard foil cup from peanut butter cups (see note above regarding doing this earlier so as not to panic like I did!). Press 1 peanut buttter cup into each hot cookie. Loosen edges of cookies with tip of knife. Chill for 20 minutes before removing from pan. Makes approximately 36 cookies (I never get the quantity of cookies they tell me it will make.. does that happen to other people?).

I must say, there is nothing better than a good Jean Pare recipe to make me a happy girl. I bought a mini-muffin pan just to make these (I’m sure at some point I will make mini muffins, or whatever else one might make in such a pan). If you don’t have the pan, I suggest going out right away to buy one!

4 responses to “Peanut Butter Hide-Aways

  1. Nice pottery bowl! I so want one, can you bring me one next weekend????

  2. Well actually, I know the potter… maybe she could hook you up sometime!

  3. Haha I mean I want a peanut butter cookie. Are there any left? I need them! I am going to have to make them I think.

  4. These are amazing! I just made them again Miss. Claire!

    New 2nd favorite cookie (to your caramel ones YUM!)

Leave a Reply

