Chocolate chip cookies

I’m back! I had a great two weeks in the UK to celebrate finishing my internship and I am happy to say I returned to Canada a fully licensed pharmacist! It appears I have some catching up to do with all the baking Caroline has been doing so I figured I should get started. Even though the last thing I need to do is eat more sweets after two weeks of over-indulging:)

Part of my trip was spent with my friend Sarah who gave me a new cookbook for my birthday. The Hummingbird Bakery cookbook, is from a well-known bakery in London and though I didn’t make it there, Sarah says it is pretty yummy. So I figured what better way to start up the baking then to try a recipe from the book. The bf was working on Sunday and hadn’t been feeling well so I figured a batch of chocolate chip cookies might help to make him feel better!

fresh from the oven!

fresh from the oven (sorry for the darkness, it was a little late)

These cookies were quick to make and made a lot of cookies! They are a thicker cookie compared to the AH chocolate chip cookies made in a previous post. Since I am a chewy cookie person I quite enjoyed these tasty morsels. The bf also enjoyed them and I sent them all home with him to avoid too much temptation.

The Hummingbird Bakery chocolate chip cookies

from The Humming Bakery Cookbook

225 g unsalted butter, at room temp
350 g light brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
400 g plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 tsp baking soda
225 g chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Put butter and sugar in stand mixer (or use handheld mixer) and cream until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mix well scraping sides of bowl after each addition. Lower speed to low speed and beat in vanilla.

Add flour, salt and baking soda and mix until a smooth dough is formed. Stir in chocolate chips. Arrange dough on baking tray, allowing enough space for spreading of the cookies. bake for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.

The new cookbook!

The new cookbook!

I am excited to try more recipes from this book but next recipe for me is Tuesdays with Dorie! See you Tuesday:)

3 responses to “Chocolate chip cookies

  1. Claire, these cookies look great! Can you bring that cookbook home on thanksgiving? I am so glad that you are back but not only because you will bake;) Good luck with this weeks TWD. I am planning a bake-free weekend and I plan to rest and relax!

  2. the other sarah

    Yay – a useful gift! :) Glad your first experience with it was a good one – they look deelish (and quite a nice photo, missy!). We’ll try it out over here, for sure. x

  3. Pingback: In which there are reasons why it was a good weekend « Postcards from the Edge (of the West Country)

Leave a Reply

