Lemon Squares

So these are my favorite lemon squares, as I previously promised to share them, here they are. I was first introduced to these squares on an Ultimate Frisbee weekend. One of the kids I was with brought them and from then on they have been known as Tegan’s Mom’s Squares. They are tangy and delicious and not overly eggy (it grosses me out when there are too many eggs in lemon items, I swear I can taste them!) These are awesome for work type events as they are a) nut free, an important feature given the current proliferation of nut allergies and b) they make a 9×13 tray of squares, perfect for sharing and ensuring that there are leftovers!

Lucious Lemon Squares

Crust
1 1/2 cups flour
2/3 cup icing sugar
3/4 cup butter
Mix together and pat into greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes (or until edges are light brown).

Filling
3 eggs lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups white sugar
3 tbsp white flour
1/4 cup lemon juice
Whisk until frothy, then pour over baked crust. Bake at 350 dgrees for 12-15 minutes. Sprinkle with icing sugar to finish them off.

3 responses to “Lemon Squares

  1. I love anything lemon related.

  2. I think I have this exact recipe as well. I have not made it in years, but it used to be a fav of mine!

  3. Pingback: Coolest Birthday Gift Ever! « Bake with Us

Leave a Reply

